login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs / Projects

How can I apply design changes only to specific version documents?

Created on 07th October 2015 at 11:35 by Jamie O'Connell



You can choose to only apply master-document design changes to selected version documents.

Because there must be a 1:1 relationship between the layout of master and version documents in a project, you will end up with two projects – one containing the new master document, and one containing the old.

There are two ways to split a project in this manner:

  1. By choosing which documents a DIFF process will be applied to, following a checkout/check-in of the master document.
  2. By manually splitting the project before making changes to the master document.

1. Choose where to apply the DIFF

  1. Start the DIFF process as normal.
  2. On the first screen, select the version documents to which the changes (i.e. those in the new master document) will be applied (changes will be applied to the checked documents).
  3. When the DIFF is applied, the checked documents will be in a project with the new version of the master document.
  4. At the same time, the unchecked documents will be spun off into a separate project with the old version of the master document.

NOTE:
This splitting of the project is a permanent action and cannot be reversed once the DIFF has been applied.

2. Split manually before changes are made to the master document

It is possible to manually split a project and choose which versions stay with which. This can be done before making design changes to one or both of the master documents (either in one2edit™ or via a checkout procedure).

  1. Select the project and click 'Edit > Duplicate'.
  2. Choose 'Move selected' from the drop-down menu.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select which version documents will move to the duplicate project and which will stay with the current project.
  4. Click 'Apply'.

The above example will result in a new project containing the DE, AT, and CH versions, while the original project keeps the SP, ARG, and FR versions.

NOTE:
This splitting of the project is a permanent action and cannot be reversed.

NOTE:
It is possible to copy versions instead of moving them, resulting in no changes to the original project structure.




© 2009-2022 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top