login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs / Jobs

How do I edit/translate content in a completed job?

Created on 20th August 2015 at 14:57 by Jamie O'Connell



A finished job (i.e. one that is in 'FINISH' status) has been fully edited, reviewed, and approved.

Therefore, once a job is finished, it typically stays finished.

If, however, the content of a finished document needs to be changed/updated, it is possible to this.

1. Reset the statuses (reactivate the original workflow)

If the original document must be edited, follow these steps:

  1. Open the job as an administrator (i.e. via the 'Edit' button at the top-right of the finished workflow track).
  2. Set the status of items in that job from 'Finished' to 'Needs Edit/Translation' or 'Needs Review'. This will cause those items to be editable once again via the original user's 'Jobs' queue (i.e. it will re-activate the edit/translation step or the review step chosen).

NOTE:
If it is not required that the content go through the workflow steps again, then you do not need to reset the status. Instead, the administrator can simply make the edits directly in the document when it is opened via the workflow track.

2. Duplicate the version document and apply a new workflow

If using a copy of the original version document is acceptable, follow these steps:

  1. Select the document in the 'Projects' tab.
  2. Click 'Edit > Duplicate'. This will create a copy of the original document, containing all of the edits made (i.e. the content will not be reset to the original source text or images).
  3. Double-click the new document and apply a workflow. This will create a new job, using the edited content as a starting point.

NOTE:
This is a useful technique when translating into two similar languages (e.g. 'French (FR)' and 'French (BE)'). Once the initial translation is done (e.g. for France), then the translator can use the 'France' version as a starting point for the 'Belgium' document, instead of having to start from scratch.

3. Enable 'Allow template-starter to use finished versions as source' in a Template

If the original job was started from a one2editâ„¢ Template, the follow these steps.

  1. Open the 'Template Details' window for the Template (select the Template and click 'Edit > Properties').
  2. Ensure that the checkbox for 'Allow template-starter to use finished versions as source' is checked. When the user starts the template again, they will be able to choose a previously-completed job as a starting point for the new job.

NOTE:
The user can only choose from a completed job that they worked on before (i.e. the finished job is displayed in the user's 'Job Archive' tab).

NOTE:
Options 2 and 3 have essentially the same outcome (i.e. a copy of the version document is created). However, in option 3, the workflow is automatically applied by the Template. Furthermore, a user can only choose a finished version from their own 'Job Archive' in option 3.




© 2009-2022 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top