login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2edit™ v4 / Tips for Checkout/Check-in/DIFF Process - v4

Why should I not mark all Frames as New?

Created on 14th October 2026 at 14:12 by Jamie O'Connell



If your translations were reset after the DIFF process, and the segments are no longer in a Content Group/Job, you may have marked frames or segments as New.

Marking an item as New during the Frames or Segments steps tells one2edit™ that the item is brand new to the document. Therefore, the item cannot have been assigned to any Content Group or Job before this point.

Therefore, if you mark an existing item as New, it will be given a new ID and the version with the old ID will be removed from the workflow, resetting any translations that may have occurred.

Marking Frames as New

During the Frames step of the DIFF process, you can link frames to updated versions of themselves, or mark new frames as New to the document.

A preview of the New document is shown on the left side, and a preview of the Old document is shown on the right side.

  1. Each unlinked frame has a pop-up menu.
    • Mark as New: This will mark the frame as new to the document. This option will change to Clear (i.e. reset the status) when the frame is linked or marked as New.
    • Link: This enables you to link an unrecognized frame in the new document to its counterpart in the old document. You can also link frames by clicking on the frame itself in the new document, and then clicking the corresponding frame in the old document. Linked frames will be highlighted in green.
  2. The Spreads drop-down menu lists the number of unlinked frames beside each spread.
  3. Mark all undone items as new: This button is a shortcut to mark all the items on the spread as New. This should only be used if the unlinked items are actually new to the document.

Marking a frame as New will tell one2edit™ that the frame is brand new to the document. This means that the content of that frame (i.e. the text therein) cannot have been added to a Content Group before this time, and cannot yet have been edited in any Job.

Therefore, care must be taken to only mark new frames as New, or you could lose translation work when applying the DIFF.

NOTE: It is not possible to recover translations that have been lost in this way.

Marking Segments as New

  1. Mark all undone items as new on this spread: If you are sure that all unrecognized segments on the spread are new to the document, then you can click this button. If you do use this button, you must take care that no existing segments on the spread are shown with an unknown status, or else the translations for those segments will be lost.
  1. Segments Dialog: Click a frame to open its Segments dialog. Here you can link, unlink, re-segment, or change the type of segments.
    • Green segments are segments containing text that is identical in the new and old revisions of the document. These are linked to each other by default.
    • Yellow segments are segments in which only the style changed, or they are segments that have been manually linked by the user, where the text does not 100% match.
    • Red segments are segments where the text has changed, or they are a new segment. You must manually link these to the old segments, if the old segment exists. Unlinked/red segments in the New column are assumed to be new to the document. Red segments in the Old column are assumed to have been deleted, and no longer exist in the document.
  2. Option Menu: The options in this menu depend on the type and color of the segment.
    • Split: Sometimes edits are made during the check-out that result in two or more sentences appearing in one segment. This may mean that the new segment cannot be properly matched to the old one. The Split tool enables you to re-segment the text so that it matches the segmentation of the original document. This typically results in new segments, in addition to the old.
    • Set type to Text/Delimiter: Click this option to change the segment from type Text to type Delimiter (or vice versa, if the segment is already of type Delimiter).
    • Reset: Click this to choose the Reset Versions settings for any changes made to this specific segment. This will override the general reset settings chosen on the Versions tab at the start. This option is not displayed for red (i.e. new) segments, because they are new to the document.
    • Link/Unlink: The option available will depend on if the text segment is already linked or not. Unlinking a segment will mark it as red.

NOTE: If a frame has been marked as New, its Segments dialog will only contain a single column of segments.




© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top