login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2edit™ v4 / Editor - v4

Why can I not edit Content in my Job?

Created on 17th September 2026 at 15:33 by Olaf Walther



If you are unable to edit content in a one2edit™ job, please check the following with your local one2edit™ workspace administrator.

The Content may not be in your Content Group

The first thing to check is if you should be permitted to edit that content.

If the content does not highlight when you move your mouse over it, then it may not be in your Content Group (i.e. available for editing).

If you feel that this is in error, please contact your local one2edit™ workspace administrator.

The Content may not be at your Workflow Step

Content items can be committed individually through the workflow. This means that all items may not be simultaneously active at a particular step.

If content does not highlight when you move your mouse over it, then it may not be currently active at your workflow step. You must wait until it has been committed to your workflow step (i.e. your Job).

  1. In the Edit Step, the user committed 20 out of 36 items for review. Therefore, only the remaining 16 items are active (i.e. can be edited) at the Edit Step.
  2. The user at the Internal Review step has received the 20 items committed from the Edit Step, and has committed 14 of those for Client Review. Therefore, only 6 items are currently active at this Internal Review step.

NOTE: Do not commit items forward in the workflow until you are really finished editing them. items that are marked as Done and committed for review are no longer editable in your Job.

Check for locked Layers

If the layer on which the content resides is locked, then no content on that layer can be edited, even if it has been added to a Content Group.

Your one2edit™ workspace administrator can check for locked layers and unlock them by clicking the padlock.

Check if "No editing possible..." is enabled

Check in the workflow that the option for No editing possible (notes only) has not been enabled (as shown above).

If it has been enabled, no content will be editable in that Job.

Your one2edit™ workspace administrator can change this.

Ensure that the Text is not "generated text" (e.g. Table of Contents)

Text that is generated by InDesign, such as a Table of Contents (TOC), cannot be edited by the user.

This is because InDesign® must generate that text, depending on how the document is set up.

NOTE: It is possible to have a TOC that is not generated, but instead manually entered. In such a case, the user can edit the TOC text.




© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top