login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2editâ„¢ v4 / Workflow - v4

How can I edit a running Workflow?

Created on 14th September 2026 at 11:38 by Olaf Walther



It is sometimes necessary to edit an in-progress workflow (e.g. to remove users, add workflow actions, etc.).

Whatever the reason, the process is quite simple:

  1. Ensure that the document is not currently being edited
  2. Open the Workflow Editor
  3. Pause the workflow
  4. Edit the workflow
  5. Resume the workflow

This lesson will demonstrate how to perform the above actions.

NOTE: If you need to add a user to the workflow, you can simply delegate the job to that user. This can be done without pausing a running workflow.

Ensure Document is not being Edited

While a document is being edited, the Edit symbol is displayed beside the document's Status.

If the document is being edited, please ask your user to close the document before continuing with these steps.

NOTE: Pausing a workflow while the document is being edited can lead to serious issues for that document.

Double-Click Document to open Workflow Editor

Double-click on the document to open the Workflow Editor.

Pause the Workflow

Some options and menus are not available until the workflow has been paused.

Click the Pause Workflow button to pause the workflow.

Changes can now be made to the paused workflow.

Option menus will be available beside users, actions, etc. in the workflow.

NOTE: The menu icon may not appear until you move your cursor over the item in the workflow.

Add new Actions

  1. Click Actions in the Document menu as shown, or double-click in any Drop actions here field in the workflow.
  2. The Workflow Actions dialog will open.
  3. Drag-and-drop the action you require into the appropriate field.

Edit existing Actions

If you need to change or correct an existing action, you can do that, too.

  1. Double-click the action to open its Action Editor dialog.
  2. Make your changes (e.g. correct a typo in an email notification).
  3. Click Save.

Delete Users

While users can be added to a running workflow (via the Delegate option), you will need to pause the workflow to delete users.

  1. Choose the Delete User option from the user's option menu.
  2. Confirm the user's deletion in the Are you sure? dialog.

Resume Workflow

When you have made your changes, click the Play button to resume the workflow.

The workflow has now resumed from where it was paused, and option menus for users and actions are no longer available.

NOTE: No changes to the status of content elements within the document will have changed. These changes were only made to the workflow, not the document content.




© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top