login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2editâ„¢ v4 / Workflow - v4

What happens if I delete a Step from an active Workflow?

Created on 14th September 2026 at 11:37 by Olaf Walther



You can delete a step from an active workflow, if required.

However, you must take into account what will happen to the status of elements in that workflow. Specifically, that any items that are active in the deleted step will be returned to the Edit/Translation step (i.e. the first step), regardless of previous workflow steps. This is because the step no longer exists, so a default status is assigned to the items.

Therefore, if you must delete a workflow step, it is best-practice to ensure that there are no items still active (yellow/light-green) at that step. Either commit the items to the following step, or reject the items to the previous step.

This lesson will demonstrate the above in more detail.

NOTE: It is only the element status that changes. Any editing that has previously taken place will not be undone.

NOTE: Please ensure that no user has the document open while performing the below steps.

Pause the running Workflow

  1. We are going to delete the External Review step from our workflow.
  2. This means that all active job items at the External Review step will revert to the Edit step, and must go through the workflow again.
  3. The first step is to pause the workflow. The option to delete a step is not available while the workflow is running.

Please note that it is important to ensure that no user has this document open before you click the Pause Workflow button.

What do we mean by active job items?
These are items that are currently being worked on at a step. They are items marked as yellow (i.e. not marked as Done) and items marked as light green (i.e. marked as Done, but not yet committed to the next step).

NOTE: Active items at the Internal Review and Final Review steps will retain their status. It is only those active items at the deleted step that will revert to the Edit step.

Delete the Workflow Step

  1. Select Delete from the step's kebab menu.
  2. In the Are you sure? dialog, click Yes to confirm deletion.

All of the active job items from the External Review step will now revert to the Edit step, even those marked as Done but not yet committed to the Final Review step.

NOTE: Any users assigned to the deleted workflow step are not informed of the deletion. The job will simply disappear from their Jobs list.

  1. The External Review step has now been deleted. Only 3 workflow steps remain.
  2. Click the Play button to resume the workflow.

Please note that the progress bars at each step will not be updated until the workflow is resumed.

Workflow Resumed

The status of each job item is now updated to reflect the changes that have taken place.

Specifically:

  1. Every item that was active in a workflow step that still exists retains its earlier status at the appropriate step.
  2. Every item that was active at the now-deleted workflow step has reverted to the Edit step.



© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top