login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2editâ„¢ v4 / Workflow - v4

What happens if I add a Step to an active Workflow?

Created on 14th September 2026 at 11:37 by Olaf Walther



You can add a step to an active Workflow.

However, you must take into account what will happen to the status of elements in that workflow. Specifically, any item already committed to a later step will remain at that later step, and will be treated as having been committed from the new step.

Therefore, if you wish for all workflow content to be approved by this new step, you must ensure that no content has yet been committed to a later workflow step.

This lesson will demonstrate the above in more detail.

NOTE: Please ensure that no user has the document open while performing the below steps.

Pause the running Workflow

  1. We are going to insert a Client Review step after the Internal Review.
  2. All items that are currently committed to the Final Review step will remain there. Only items committed from the Internal Review step after the new step has been inserted will be subject to Client Review.
  3. The first step is to pause the workflow. The option to add a new step is not available while the workflow is running.

What do we mean by active job items?
These are items that are currently being worked on at a step. They are items marked as yellow (i.e. not marked as Done) and items marked as light green (i.e. marked as Done, but not yet committed to the next step).

Please note that it is important to ensure that no user has this document open before you click the Pause Workflow button.

Add the New Workflow Step

In this example, we are going to add the Client Review step after the Internal Review step.

  1. Click Add New Step in the kebab menu of the Internal Review step.
  2. The new step appears after the chosen step.
  1. Set up your new workflow step.
  2. Click the Play button to resume the workflow.

Please note that the progress bars at each step will not be updated until the workflow is resumed.

Workflow Resumed

The status of each job item is now updated to reflect the changes that have taken place.

Specifically, all items retain their previous status.

  1. If that status was before the new step, the content will pass through the new step for review.
  2. If that status was after the new step, the content will not pass through the new step for review.



© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top