login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / FAQs - one2editâ„¢ v4 / Workflow - v4

Can I change the Job Items in a running Workflow?

Created on 14th September 2026 at 11:37 by Olaf Walther



It is possible to add new items to (or remove items from) a Content Group after a workflow has started.

The example below details how to add content items to a running workflow, but the steps are the same for removing items from the workflow.

Open the Source Document and Lock the Versions

  1. Open the source-language document, and click the padlock button to lock the language-version documents.
  1. Click Lock to lock the versions.

NOTE: If there are any documents currently open by a user, you will not be able to lock the versions. Please wait until all documents in this project are closed and then try again.

  1. Click OK in the Default Settings dialog.

NOTE: Moving items to and from Content Groups does not change the content itself. However, if you are going to make changes to any content at this point (e.g. change an image, change some text...) then you must check the appropriate Default Reset boxes on the left side of this dialog.

Move Items to/from Content Group

Select the items you wish to add to the Job, and drag them into the Content Group.

You can select and drag items from the document preview or the Structure Panel, as shown.

NOTE: If you wish to remove items from a Job, simply drag them to the Unassigned Items tab instead. This will remove those items from all Content Groups, and thus from all Jobs.

  1. The selected items will now be highlighted in the color of the Content Group (in this example, red).
  2. The items also have a color marker in the Structure corresponding to their Content Group.

Save & Close

  1. Click the Close button to close the editor.
  2. If you have not already saved your changes, you will be prompted to do so now.

The new items will now be active in the Edit/Translation step of your workflow (i.e. the first step).
If that step was already completed, it will re-activate, and any workflow actions will be executed.

NOTE: If you do not save your changes, the items will not be added to the Content Group.

How does adding Content affect an exported Translation File?

A translation export is a snapshot of the translation content at the time of the export.

Therefore, an translation file exported before new items were added to its Content Group will not contain those new items.

If the new content also needs to be translated externally, there are two options:

  1. Re-export the translations by clicking the Export button. This new file can simply replace the old XML file for translation.
  2. Import the original translated XML file, and then export a new XML file for offline translation. This new export will contain the new content.



© 2009-2026 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top