login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / Administrators – Preparing your one2edit™ Workspace / Workflow Templates

Creating Workflow Templates

Created on 28th November 2016 at 18:02 by Jamie O'Connell



A workflow template can be created via the 'Workflows' tab or saved from the workflow window.

In this lesson we will create a workflow via the 'Workflows' tab.

Create a New Workflow

Create a New Workflow

In the 'Workflows' tab:

  1. Select a folder as your new template's home.
  2. Click 'File > New Workflow' to open the 'New Workflow' window.
  3. Name your new workflow, define the 'Job Handling', and, if desired, add a description of your new workflow.
  4. Click 'Save'.

Open new workflow

The new workflow is now listed in the 'Workflows' tab.

You will now need to add some content groups to the workflow.

Double-click the new workflow to open it.

Click 'File > New Content Group'

Click 'File > New Content Group'

Each workflow track corresponds to a content group within your master document.

Create a new workflow track in this workflow by clicking 'File > New Content Group'.

NOTE:
If your master document contains multiple content groups, you should create multiple workflow tracks in this way. You will then need to name each workflow track to match the name of a content group.

Name your workflow track

Name your workflow track

Double-click the name to edit it ('New Content Group' is the default name).

Rename the workflow track to match the content group name in your master document.

NOTE:
Please remember that the name of the workflow track must be a 100% match to the name of the content group within your master document. These names are case sensitive.

Assign the target language

Drag and drop the target language for this workflow into the 'Language' field. The 'Language Sets' window is available via 'Settings > Language Sets'.

NOTE:
Every
one2edit™ 'Language Set' has a separate translation memory. If there is more than one 'Language Set' available, you should be careful to select the target language from the correct set.

Add and rename required workflow steps

Add and rename required workflow steps
  1. Click the '+' button in the 'Review' step to add more review steps.
  2. Rename these steps as required.

NOTE:
You cannot rename the 'Edit' step.

NOTE:
You cannot add more 'Edit' steps to the workflow.

Populate the workflow track with users and actions

Populate the workflow track with users and actions
  1. Add Users: Drag and drop users into the appropriate workflow steps. The 'Users and Groups' window is accessible via 'Settings > Users and Groups'.
  2. Add Actions: Drag and drop automated actions into the appropriate workflow steps. The 'Workflow Actions' window is accessible via 'File > Actions'.

NOTE:
Most actions will need to be set up (via a double-click) after being added to the workflow. For more information on this, please see the appropriate lessons about workflow actions in the knowledge base.

NOTE:
The editing rights for all users in a job are dictated by the Content Rules. It does not matter to which user-group they belong. In other words, being an administrator does not grant more editing privileges within a job.

NOTE:
If you do not wish to use a certain workflow step, simply do not add any users to that step.

NOTE:
If you add multiple users to a single workflow step, then both of those users will see the same job in their 'Jobs' tab. This means that either of those users can complete the job without the other user's involvement. If you want to ensure that all users will work on a job, the users need to be assigned to separate steps within the workflow track.

NOTE: 'Variable' Users

NOTE: 'Variable' Users

You can assign 'variable users' to a workflow.

To insert one of these variable users, right-click on the (empty) 'Drop users here' field of any workflow step, and choose the appropriate user from the context menu.

A variable user is a placeholder that will be populated with a specific username when the workflow is started. That username is assigned once - pausing and resuming a workflow will not change the assigned users.

There are two variable user options from which you can choose:

  1. Document Owner: The 'Document owner' user will be replaced by the username of whoever created the document in one2edit™.
  2. Workflow Starter: The 'Workflow starter' user will be replaced by the username of whoever starts that workflow.

NOTE:
These users are most commonly used in workflows that are assigned to jobs via a job template in the 'Templates' tab. Whoever starts the job template will be substituted for either variable user, because they both spawn a new version document (i.e. document owner) and start a workflow (i.e. workflow starter).

NOTE: Deleting items from the workflow (and the workflow itself)

NOTE: Deleting items from the workflow (and the workflow itself)
  1. Delete the 'Workflow Track': The entire workflow track can be deleted via the minus (-) button beside its name.
  2. Delete the target language: Delete the target language from the workflow track via the minus (-) button beside it. This can be used to change the target language in a duplicated workflow.
  3. Delete a 'Workflow User': Users can be deleted via the minus (-) button beside their name. If all users are deleted from a 'Workflow Step' it can no longer be executed and the step will be inactive.
  4. Delete a 'Workflow Action': Actions can be deleted via the minus (-) button beside them.
  5. Delete a 'Workflow Step': Review steps can be deleted via the minus (-) button beside their name. One review step will always be present in the workflow, but it does not have to be used (i.e. if no user is assigned to it).

NOTE:
A confirmation message will appear when you attempt to delete anything from a workflow.

NOTE:
It is not possible to undo any deletion.

Configure workflow steps

Configure workflow steps

You can set rules for each workflow step by clicking on the little triangle icon, as shown.

Panel Settings:
Define which panels (e.g. 'Document Change History', 'Document Info', etc.) are shown in the document editor for this workflow step.
The default is set via 'Settings > Client Workspace Settings'.

Frame Rules:
Define the frame-editing privileges for the step user.

  • Use Settings: Any user assigned to this step is beholden to the 'Frame Rules' set in the 'Master Document Editor'. This is the default value.
  • Allow All: Any user assigned to this step can edit all frames that contain editable content.
  • Allow None: Any user assigned to this step cannot edit any frames, even if frame-editing privileges are granted via the 'Frame Rules' in the 'Master Document Editor'.

No editing possible (notes only):
The user(s) of this step cannot edit any content.
They can, however, mark content items as 'Done' (or 'Accepted/Rejected', depending on if it is an 'Edit' or 'Review' workflow step).
Users in such a step can also add notes to the content.

"Commit to next step" only possible when all items are done:
The user(s) of this step can only pass items to the next workflow step once all of the active content is marked as 'Done' (or 'Accepted/Rejected', depending on if it is an 'Edit' or 'Review' workflow step).
Please keep in mind that if 10 out of 100 items are passed to a workflow step, only those 10 items need to be marked as 'Done'/'Accepted'/'Rejected' to fulfill this requirement (i.e. only 10 items are active at that workflow step).

NOTE:
A checkmark will appear beside any enabled option.

NOTE:
By default, users cannot edit any frame geometry.

NOTE:
The options chosen via this menu only apply to the selected workflow step.

Click 'File > Close'

Click 'File > Close'

Click 'File > Close' to return to your 'Workflows' tab.

All changes that you have made to the workflow are saved automatically as you are making them, so there is no need to explicitly click a 'save' button.




© 2009-2021 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top