login | sign up

Your session has timed out due to inactivity.

You can go back to the overview without login or use the login form to login again before redirect

Knowledge Base / Administrators – Creating Jobs in one2edit™ / Creating jobs manually in one2edit

Creating a Workflow in a Version Document from scratch

Created on 25th November 2016 at 17:33 by Jamie O'Connell



Version documents do not have a workflow by default

Version documents do not have a workflow by default

When a version document is manually created, the progress column will show 'No workflow'. This is because no workflow has been assigned to, or created for, this document.

Open the Workflow View

Open the Workflow View
  1. Double-click a version document to open the workflow view for that document.
  2. Alternatively, you may select the document and click 'File > Open'.

Assign an Empty Workflow

Assign an Empty Workflow

Click on the 'Assign Empty Workflow' button.

Empty Workflow Track

Empty Workflow Track

You will now see at least one empty workflow track on the screen.

NOTE:
If your content group is of type 'Edit Group', then there will be no 'Language' section in the workflow.

NOTE:
If no workflow tracks appear, then you must create and populate content groups within your master document. Please see the appropriate lessons for instructions about how to do that.

NOTE:
There will be a separate Workflow Track for every content group that exists in the master document.

Set the Target Language for the Workflow Track

Set the Target Language for the Workflow Track

The target language for a workflow track (i.e. content group) is added from the 'Language Sets' window.

  1. Double-click on the 'Language' step in the workflow to open the 'Language Sets' window (or click 'Settings > Language Sets').
  2. Select the language set folder.
  3. Select the language set.
  4. Drag the appropriate language from the language set to the 'Language' field of the workflow track.
  5. Close the 'Language Sets' window.

NOTE:
This sets the target language for the content of this workflow track (i.e. content group) alone. If you have a multi-lingual document, you must perform this action for each target language, i.e., for each content group.

Add Users to the Workflow

Add Users to the Workflow

Users are added to the workflow from the 'Users and Groups' window

  1. Double-click on the user field in the 'Edit Step' workflow step to open the 'Users and Groups' window (or click 'Settings > Users and Groups).
  2. Select the appropriate user group.
  3. Drag the user to the workflow step.
  4. Close the 'Users and Groups' window.

NOTE:
If no user is assigned to a workflow step, then that step will be ignored.

Add Variable User to a Workflow Step using Right Click

Add Variable User to a Workflow Step using Right Click

There are two types of variable user that may be added to a workflow step: the 'Document owner' and the 'Workflow starter'.

  • Document owner: This is the user that created the document in the first place.
  • Workflow starter: This is the user that first started this workflow.

To add a variable user to a workflow step:

  1. Right-click in the user field.
  2. Select 'Workflow starter' or 'Document owner' from the context menu.

NOTE:
If the job is created from a one2edit Template, then both of these variable users will resolve to the same user. This is because the user who starts a workflow both creates the version document and starts the workflow on that document.

NOTE:
As soon as a workflow is started, an actual username replaces the variable user in the workflow. This means that the username is no longer a variable after that point.

Assign Actions to the Workflow

Assign Actions to the Workflow

Actions are assigned to workflow steps to trigger on specific events.

In this example, the translations from the job will be committed to the permanent (i.e. approved) translation memory after the full translation, review and approval workflow has been completed.

  1. Double-click in the 'Steps Completion' action field to open the 'Workflow Actions' window (or click 'Workflow > Actions').
  2. Drag the desired action to the workflow step.
  3. Close the 'Workflow Actions' window.

NOTE:
There are three fields in a normal workflow step to which you can add actions: 'Start', 'Running', and 'Finished'.

  • Start: Actions here are called as soon as the workflow step starts (i.e. as soon as there is active content at the step).
  • Running: Actions here are called as soon as the user starts working on the job at this active step.
  • Finished: Actions here are called as soon as there is no more active content at the step.

NOTE:
Actions in the 'Finished' area are called when all 'active' content is complete. This may not be the full amount of content in the document, however, because the user of the previous step may only have committed 50% of the content to the step for review/approval. Therefore, as soon as this 50% of the document is marked as accepted/rejected, the 'Finished' action will be called for that step, because there is no longer any 'active' content at that step.

NOTE:
Multiple actions may be assigned to any field in the workflow.

NOTE:
Any action in the 'Steps Completion' area will only be called when the entire workflow is 100% complete.

NOTE:
The 'Step Users' variable should not be used in any action for the 'Steps Completion' step (e.g. as the recipient of an 'Export Document' action). This is because there are no users assigned to the 'Steps Completion' step.

Start a Workflow

Start a Workflow

Click on the 'Start Workflow' button to start the workflow.

NOTE:
If a 'Workflow starter' variable user has been assigned to any workflow steps, that variable will be replaced by your username as soon as you click the 'Start Workflow' button.

Close the Workflow view

Close the Workflow view

Click 'Workflow > Close' to close the workflow view.




© 2009-2021 1io BRANDGUARDIAN GmbH · All rights Reserved · Legal / Privacy Policy


top